Picture
Habari, good morning! It's 4am and I can't sleep, too excited about making a 3-day trip to the Masai later today :) So I'd better update you on what has been going on lately here.
Last weekend I had a stomach bug so I stayed home, made myself a soup and had a relaxing time. Naomi and Michelle were home so they took good care of me :) Here you see a splendid view of Mt. Kili at sunset.
On Monday we went to a clinic with all the ladies in our project:

Above you see our translators Popo (in the middle) and Patience (on the right), who graduated from the Kenya School of Homeopathy in 2011. In the other picture: Camilla teaching, Lorraine (right) and Anna (left).
Below (clockwise): Camilla (in the white shirt), Popo, me, Lorraine, Patience, Naomi, Anna and Michelle.
After the clinic we went for a meeting at Union Cafe (the Chagga tribe grows a lovely Arabica coffee on the hills of the surrounding mountains and they have formed a cooperative to sell it). HHA offers us the possibility of speaking with a psychologist to prevent a breakdown: 'caring for the carers'.
Picture
On Tuesday we went to a clinic near the Pare Mountain, where Roger, our most experienced translator, was born. There were so many patients that we had to split in two groups and it was Lorraine's and Naomi's baptism of fire taking cases (in a chicken hut!) aided by Roger.
Anna and I stayed with Michelle, first inside the guest house, where we were welcomed with a delicious chai (tea) and chapatti, then we moved under a tree because it was too hot inside, until a storm chased us back into the house again...

Picture
Every time we go to a clinic we take something to eat for our patients, like bananas or chapatti. Many of them have had to walk a long distance to come to the clinic and have no money to buy three meals a day so you can see the smiles on their faces when we hand them in our 'goods'.
That's it for now, folks. Stay tuned to hear more about our trip to the Masai! If you want to read more, have a look at Naomi's blog. It's time for me to pack my bag. Kwaheri (bye)!




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hello, in this blog you can read about my adventures in Tanzania in the period 19 January - 29 March, where I am volunteering for Homeopathy for Health in Africa.

    Archives

    April 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All